## 2010-2011 Annual Committee Report

Committee Name: Student Scholarship/Financial Aid Committee

Chairperson: Michelle A. Alexander

List of members: Brandi Brannon, Jeanne Ballard, Katrina Brasuell, Garry David, Melissa

Elliott, Jeff Feix, Mindi Flynn, John B. Hardin, III, Dr. Gary Don Harkey, Kristin Harris, Joe Hite, Barbara Jinks, LeAnn Jordan, Lynn Kalski, Shan Munson, Aletha Newman, Christian Joseph Porciuncula, Jack Williams

Dates of meetings: April 22, 2011

Accomplishments: Scholarship awards for 2011-2012 were established:

#### **New Students**

Scholarships for 2011-2012 will be awarded, based upon class rank, to students in the top 50% of their graduating class, based upon the table

| Top | 10%    | \$2,000 |
|-----|--------|---------|
|     | 20%    | 1,500   |
|     | 30%    | 1,000   |
|     | 40-50% | 500     |

## **Returning Students**

| Grade point Average | 4.0        | \$2,000 |
|---------------------|------------|---------|
|                     | 3.5 - 3.99 | 1,000   |
|                     | 3.0 - 3.49 | 750     |

### **Full-time Employee Dependents**

Dependents of full-time Vernon College employees be awarded \$500 in addition to any other scholarship award.

#### **Institutional Scholarships**

Institutional Scholarship funding will remain level with 2010-2011 according to the table outlined below.

| Six (6) \$500 music scholarships       | \$3,000 |
|--|---------|
| One (1) \$1,000 dorm music scholarship | 1,000   |
| Six (6) \$500 drama scholarships       | 3,000   |
| One (1) \$1,000 dorm drama scholarship | 1,000   |
| Six (6) \$500 athletic trainer         | 3,000   |
|  |         |

| One (1) \$1,000 dorm athletic trainer | 1,000 |
|---------------------------------------|-------|
| Six (6) \$500 SGA                     | 3,000 |
| Three (3) \$500 student forum         | 1,500 |
| Two (2) \$500 Phi Theta Kappa         | 1,000 |
| Two (2) \$250 SAFB dependent          | 500   |

# Out of State Students \$1,000 competitive scholarships

Out of state students awarded a competitive scholarship with a minimum value of \$1,000 will be eligible for in-state tuition.

Recommendations: 2011-2012 awards will be based upon available interest earnings which

will be determined after the August 31, 2011 audit.

Membership suggestions:

Attachment of agendas and minutes (including attendance): Already submitted

Submitted by: Michelle A. Alexander, Chair

Date submitted: October 19, 2011